The Social Media Beast

Most of the time, it is difficult to see celebrities as who they really are – people, just like us. Actress Emma Watson, in a recent interview, discussed the addictive and dangerous nature of social media. She is very aware of the need to create boundaries, and has been known to not check her email during off hours as a way to take a technology break.

Screen Shot 2017-04-25 at 4.33.44 PM

Additionally, with anyone who is in the limelight, Watson struggles with the scrutiny of the internet. She has over 33 million Instagram followers and 24.5 million followers on Twitter. Personally, I would not even know what to say to that many people, and the sheer numbers alone would make me feel scared to post.

Retweeting or commenting on something that they post does not always fall on deaf ears. Of course, this is not suggesting that a huge star like Emma Watson reads all of her comments on Instagram, however I am sure she gets the general vibe of how a post was received by the public. When being critical of people in the limelight, such as famous actresses, I have to remind myself that, although this is their job, they are just as susceptible to the risks of posting something online as I am.

“Sometimes the fear of doing things is overwhelming. I get incredibly overwhelmed and sometimes feel hemmed in by that, afraid of that, but I know that if I live in that fear, then my life as an artist, as a human being, really, is over.”

– Emma Watson

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Social Media Beast

  1. sydhavely says:

    I agree with you. I also don’t think celebrity status obligates one to have a social media presence but maybe it does.

Leave a Reply

