“In the gym just workin’ on my fitness, my smart watch’s my witness”

3gooz

“I be up in the gym just workin’ on my fitness, he’s my witness.”-Fergie, “Fergalicious” (Gif retrieved from popkey.co)

Like Fergie in the classic (if vexing) 2006 pop song, “Fergalicious,” I enjoy a good workout and “workin’ on my fitness.” I like to use my Samsung Galaxy S7 to track my progress on different apps. That being said, last week was spring break. Today is the first Monday back from break. What did this mean to me? I was off my normal schedule for a week, specifically in diet and exercise terms. I bought three boxes of Girl Scout cookies and I regret nothing. As a full time student, I thrive on a schedule. When I don’t have one, responsibilities fall by the wayside. I noticed this in my logs on MyFitnessPal.

I began using MyFitnessPal three years ago during the summer, but restarted tracking my diet and exercise habits at the beginning of this semester. It’s a great app to use when you’re trying to maintain a healthy lifestyle. Although it is a social media tool, I don’t tend to use it as such; I only have one friend on the app, one of my best friends from college. That being said, MyFitnessPal seems to be one of the most trusted names in diet tracking apps. It was acquired by another large name in fitness, Under Armour, in 2015 and is now available for use on Samsung Galaxy Gear S2 and S3. It is, of course, also available on the AppleWatch.

In Chapter 7 of The Age of Context, Robert Scoble and Shel Israel explore the idea of health and technology. They claimed that by this year, 2017, “mobile health sensors connected to mobile health apps will be a $5.6 billion dollar market.” At the time this book was published in 2013, Samsung was just about to get ready to release their Smart watch known as Galaxy Gear which, in addition to taking calls and sending emails & texts, tracked sleep patterns, steps, and calories burned. Although Galaxy Gear was ultimately unsuccessful, it paved the way for the AppleWatch, which was released later in 2015. And the there’s the Fitbit, which, unlike the AppleWatch or the Galaxy Gear, was not originally connected to any particular Tech magnate. It was founded in 2007, but didn’t go live on NYSE until 2015.

According to a 2015 article on the Markets and Markets website, in 2015 the Wearable Technology industry exceeded Scoble and Israel’s expectations and grew to $15.71 billion, and is expected to grow to $51.6 billion by 2022. It’s hard to refute the affect wearable tech has had on modern society, not only in markets but also in the social media realm. For example, Fitbit users engage in “challenges” with their followers.

Although I do not personally own any of these devices, that isn’t to say I may in the future.  I honestly believe it’s the next step in upping my fitness game. Perhaps I may even engage in the social media aspect of fitness; maybe it will make me more accountable and help me stick to a routine. Scoble and Israel are correct. The Wearable Technology industry is the future and the future is now. The fitness wearable technology industry is, to put it like Fergie, a “witness.”

This entry was posted in Apps, Diet, exercise, Fitness, Social Media, Uncategorized, Wearable Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “In the gym just workin’ on my fitness, my smart watch’s my witness”

  1. sydhavely says:

    Great post. My biking friends are addicted to Strava (so is one of my hiking friends). I may use it but not at the moment. My fellow cyclists also measure their watt output. I don’t know, i guess I’m pre-digital more than digital. I don’t even turn on my monitor during spin class I just close my eyes, listen to the music, and tune out for 55 minutes. I could be anywhere. You’ve nailed it as well. Well done.

Leave a Reply

