The Future of “Old” Social Media

 

*beepbeepbeep*

Alarm off.

Time to procrastinate getting ready for work by checking social media. I waste 20 precious morning minutes scrolling through feeds I’m not even interested in, but it’s just a habit for me to do so. Just like Tom Haverford (pictured below) from Parks and Recreation, I know I can’t be the only one who lies in bed after the alarm to scroll through Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. It has become a daily morning routine to check what the world has been up to for the past 8 hours. Gossip may be my vice, but I am definitely in favor of more productive social media. As Forbes predicts, within the next decade, social media will not be the same.

It’s obvious how social media has impacted our lives. It’s a great way to connect with family and friends, especially those we don’t see on a weekly or monthly basis. Other than connecting with my long distance friends and relatives, I’ve become so bored of social media feeds. In comparison to the days of early social media, it’s just not as exciting as it used to be. It’s just like the phrase “you always want what you can’t have.” Now that I can be in constant communication with people, I learned I need to turn it off sometimes. 

Over the  years, social media has become more and more normalized. When I scroll through Facebook, Twitter and Instagram during my morning commute, a fifteen minute train ride passes quickly. Along with normalization, social media has centralized. One can download an app like Buffer to keep social media platforms in one central dashboard. Social media feeds are more for marketers to advertise products. The Buffer user can easily schedule posts and post to all social networks to increase viewers. There’s really a science behind it all. 

Don’t get me wrong. Technology is the way of the future. For example, smart home systems and smartwatches give us hands-free communication to stay connected to the things that really matter, like energy savings, safety and convenience. This leaves limited room for the “comments” and “likes” on Facebook posts.  As Jason DeMers predicts, we will leave “old” social media in the past to make room for a post social media world. This includes AR and VR, bringing social media connections to a full sensory experience. I don’t know about you, but that sounds a lot more interesting than the way we use social media now.

 

 

This entry was posted in Facebook, Social Media, Twitter. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

