Insta-Connections Part III: City to City

Last week I followed up on a post that I wrote about the power of forming connections via social media, specifically Instagram. I purchased my first piece of art through the app, and have been communicating with the artist on and off for about a month. I have experienced this story developing throughout the semester, and yet I am constantly surprised by the impact social media has on my life.

I spoke with the artist last night about the delivery date of my purchase, and he mentioned that he has been busy planning a series of events to be held later this month (4/23/16). #UncuttArt marks all of his street art with the number 423, coming from Proverbs 4:23. The message is simple: “Above all else, guard your heart, for everything you do flows from it.” The artist aims to spread a message of self love, and says that those who find the art throughout the various cities he passes through are meant to see the message. With that in mind, he has decided to make April, 23rd Protect Your Heart Day. So, how do I fit into all of this? I was asked to host an event in Philadelphia (but I haven’t said yes yet)!

 

PYH2 I am fascinated by the fact that this artist and I have never met, but I was asked to be a part of this movement. There are events happening from Los Angeles to New York City, and strangers from all over will be coming together to celebrate the importance of self care and self love. As the messages above show, some event hosts are planning networking meet-ups, art shows, and fashion shows. What a powerful message to send, and what’s more impressive is that these events and the message itself are being planned and spread through social media! I’m not quite sure what my next steps will be, but this story is definitely to be continued…

P.S. If anyone is interested in helping to coordinate a PYH event in Philly this month, let me know!

This entry was posted in Art, Instagram, Social Media, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Insta-Connections Part III: City to City

  1. sydhavely says:

    Sounds like you are developing a nice network contact, Alexis. Great post.

Leave a Reply

