Are you a Toilet Tweeter?

download

As much as I have grown to dislike any iteration of the “keep calm, carry on” posters, this one rings especially true.  Even if I’m at home, I find myself always check to make sure I have my phone within reach.  I know I’m not alone…right?

windex-bg2-half

So, when I came across this interactive infographic showing the many ways and places we use our phones, I thought I would share some of the more interesting findings:

  • We spend almost 3 hours on our phones daily.  This translates into about 21 hours per week and over 20 days per year!
  • 97% of people 18-29 send an average of 88 text messages per day
  • We devote about 9 minutes each day to checking email

In one November 2014 survey:

  • 61% of study participants admitted to using their phone in the bathroom
    • 49% of them read text messages
    • 30% of them answer their phones
    • 9% admitted to dropping their phone in the toilet (I suspect this number should be higher)

In a July 2014 survey:

  • 36% of respondents used phones while on public transportation

Overall, I don’t think these findings are neither good nor bad.  I think it would be more interesting to see how time spent doing other things has changed with the rise in popularity and usage of our smartphones.  We might find that the time we previously might have spent doing an activity offline (ex: listening to music) is now spent on our phones doing that same activity.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Are you a Toilet Tweeter?

  1. sydhavely says:

    Good post, K’Shelle. Some stats are interesting; others just tell you things you might have guessed yourself but don’t change your life. Social media is still in the throes of “wow.”

Leave a Reply

