#iwishmyteacherknew

ht_wish_my_teacher_02_float_150416_16x9_992

According to a recent article posted by Nicole Pelletiere via Good Morning America, a Colorado teacher shared heartbreaking notes from her third grade class that I couldn’t help but blog about because of the emotion that arose from reading the article. I initially came across this article on my Facebook News Feed, (as I do with most of the articles I come across) and noticed that multiple friends of mine were sharing. As of today, when I last scrolled through, the post had 2,747 Likes, 302 Comments and 835 Shares since the article posted yesterday. Another example of how social networking creates and builds communities around emotion. Being the daughter of a retired 5th grade teacher of 35 years, I can appreciate the hard work and patience required to teach children, especially those who receive minimal support family members at home and I felt connected when reading this article.

Kyle Schwartz teaches 3rd grade at Doull Elementary in Denver, Colorado, and although she stated her students are a pleasure to look after, she reported to ABC News:

“92 percent of our students qualify for free and reduced lunch. As a new teacher, I struggled to understand the reality of my students’ lives and how to best support them. I just felt like there was something I didn’t know about my students”

In an attempt to build trust between her and her students, Ms. Schwartz created a lesson plan called, “I Wish My Teacher Knew”. This was essentially a chance for her third graders to jot down a thought for their teacher that they would like her to know about them. Although many chose to remain anonymous, they all seemed to enjoy sharing with the class because they actually wanted their classmates to know. Ms. Schwartz was so shocked by her students honesty that she actually began tweeting their notes under the hashtag, #iwishmyteacherknew, hoping to encourage fellow teachers to employ the same lesson with their own students. Other Tweets included:

PHOTO: Kyle Schwartz asked her students to tell her what they wish their teacher knew

PHOTO: Kyle Schwartz asked her students to tell her what they wish their teacher knew

PHOTO: Schwartz uses the hashtag #IWishMyTeacherKnew to share notes with other teachers worldwide.

PHOTO: Schwartz uses the hashtag #IWishMyTeacherKnew to share notes with other teachers worldwide.

Because of this campaign, tweets and photos of notes from other schools came pouring in from around the world. Again, these are the reasons I choose to remain on social media, because of the positive outcomes a simple tweet or Facebook post can create which can lead to larger community building and potential change. People connect to emotion and especially when the emotion revolves around children. This was an extremely powerful message that social media aided in spreading across the world.

“I think it caught on so fast because teachers are highly collaborative and freely share and explore resources,” Schwartz says. “In the end, all teachers want to support their students, and #iwishmyteacherknew is a simple and powerful way to do that.”

I couldn’t agree more.

Read the full article at:
http://abcnews.go.com/Lifestyle/colorado-teacher-shares-heartbreaking-notes-graders/story?id=30368103

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #iwishmyteacherknew

  1. sydhavely says:

    And I couldn’t agree more with you. Great post, Lindsay.

Leave a Reply

