Suicide surpassed war as the military’s leading cause of death

The Last American Veteran Of World War I Buried At Arlington National Cemetery

 http://www.usatoday.com/story/nation/2014/10/31/suicide-deaths-us-military-war-study/18261185/                                                                                                                                

<:section class=”storytopbar-bucket story-headline-module”><:section class=”storytopbar-bucket story-headline-module”><:section class=”storytopbar-bucket story-headline-module”><:section class=”storytopbar-bucket story-headline-module”><:section class=”storytopbar-bucket story-headline-module”><:section class=”storytopbar-bucket story-headline-module”>

 

<:section class=”storytopbar-bucket story-headline-module”><:section class=”storytopbar-bucket story-headline-module”>

I wanted to do this particular article as suicides in the military have been all too real for me throughout my 11 years in the Army. I just recently found out one of my former soldiers Cpl. Flannery took his life a few weeks ago. He served under me during my last tour to Iraq, and he was a great soldier and a father. I was extremely surprised to learn the news as he was always upbeat and on point, not one of my “troubled few”. I’ve had men in the battalion I was a part of take their lives during a deployment after finding out their wife left them or their girlfriend was cheating on them or even a fellow soldier and close friend was killed. All of those were in country we were all under tremendous amounts of stress and just exhausted. The problem is when soldier come home they bring a lot of that back with them, a lot of them won’t show any signs at all, much like Cpl. Flannery, but I urge you if you have friends/family that have deployed and are showing any of the signs of suicide please speak up and let them know you care, you just might save a life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Suicide surpassed war as the military’s leading cause of death

  1. sydhavely says:

    I want to convey my thoughts and prayers to the family of Cpl. Flannery and to you, his commanding officer, as well as to all those who served with and knew him. Important post, although very sad.

Leave a Reply

