The Grammys Gave me FOMO

57th GRAMMY Awards - Press Room

This year, for the first time in many, I actually sat down to watch the Grammys.  Well, since I do not have cable, I along with 7.5 million others streamed the award show via the CBS All-Access App.  The app functioned okay but I was a little disappointed that there was no integration of social media within the app.  This was a little surprising considering the show turned out to be the “biggest social entertainment program” of the TV season.

Feeling like I was missing out on the conversation, I pulled up twitter on my phone and was constantly refreshing my feed throughout the show.  Due to the buffering within the app and the sound occasionally cutting in and out, at times I found out the winners of an award before I was even able to see it on my screen.  This happened only a handful of times so I guess I shouldn’t complain especially given that viewers on the West Coast had to contend with this for the whole broadcast since isn’t aired live for them.

I’m sure they don’t want to lose advertisers or their viewership during prime time to drop should the show air live, but then you have to deal with very dissatisfied viewers who in the age of social media do not want to wait to be able to join in on the conversation.  Also, if you know who won and can see clips if not whole performances before the show even airs, what is your incentive to tune in?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Grammys Gave me FOMO

  1. sydhavely says:

    Great post, K’Shelle. And true!

Leave a Reply

