Brand Recognition at it’s Finest #Grammys2015

Although I can’t speak for everyone, I will be the first to admit that for any awards show (especially the Grammys), my number one must-see is the shocking fashion picks crawling down the red carpet. Although I was not able to actually witness the red carpet event, my social media outlets did a fantastic job of keeping me abreast of the best and worst fashion ensembles at the 2015 Grammys and this comes as no surprise with ratings as astronomical as the ones posted in the above tweet. The power of social media is remarkable and it is during times like these that I greatly enjoy the accessibility and live connectivity available at my fingertips.

Without the availability to receive live updates from my array of social media outlets, I would have missed out on Rihanna’s ridiculous pink cupcake gown or Madonna’s cheek-less black leotard, just to name a few. This night was just as important for the musicians as it was for the fashion designers and stylists whose names were and will continue to be the first and most important question asked of each celebrity gracing the red-carpet. However over-the-top these outfits may be (or maybe you even loved them), at least 1.6 billion viewers are walking away at least having heard the name Giambattista Valli as the designer of Rihanna’s gown or Lorraine Schwartz as the designer of Beyoncé’s glistening jewelry. Brand recognition as its finest.

If nothing else, I greatly enjoy the comedic relief social media provides during events such as these. It is fascinating to see viewers across the world voicing their opinions on an event that draws us all together for those few hours. In a way, it almost encourages users to foster an open mind because we have the ability to see how others view the situation, which may vastly differ from our personal view. Although I may have a hard time finding this statement true, I do believe and accept that there are viewers who loved Rihanna’s ensemble. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion and certainly able express it freely on social media. At the end of the day, isn’t this was keeps us coming back for more?

Who doesn’t love a good Ric Flair Reference?

This entry was posted in Grammys, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Brand Recognition at it’s Finest #Grammys2015

  1. sydhavely says:

    Funny and great post, Lindsay. I watched Fashion Police with my wife and so got to see what you’re talking about.

Leave a Reply

