Instagrammed?

Barack Obama scott

Driving home from class last week, I turned on the radio to hear about the next impending snow storm as in will the kids have off from school, who will cover the office, will our Comcast meeting that we have waited five years to get be cancelled? But, imagine my surprise when I was met with a roadblock. No, not the kind that stop all traffic but what’s called a broadcast roadblock. President Obama was speaking on every station. I forgot. It was the State of the Union #SOTU and I was caught right in the middle.

Don’t worry I am not going to offer any political commentary. That would be suicide in a new class where I don’t know anyone much less their political leanings. But, rather than turning on Pandora, I decided to listen since I am somewhat a student of political oratory. And, while the speech didn’t seem that extraordinary, other than that it sounded like Obama ’08 rather than Obama ’14, there was something extraordinary about it. He uttered a word that I have never heard in a State of the Union address. You may be thinking that I am talking about the “t” word. http://time.com/3676881/state-of-the-union-2015-barack-obama-transgender/

No it wasn’t the word transgender. Enough has already been made about that on social media. It was another word — Instagram — as in the social media platform. Never in my long memory, do I remember a president calling out a social media platform. Of all the 6,718 words in the State of the Union, this is the one that stood out for me. The President used it when he said, “Scott Kelly will begin a year-long stay in space. Good luck, Captain – and make sure to Instagram it.”

Wow. The President talking about a social media platform. We all know that social media went mainstream a long time ago but when a President acknowledges something it gives it a new level of legitimacy. Who knows what may be next but social media reached a whole new level this week and there is no going back now.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Instagrammed?

  1. kmbailey2015 says:

    He also has a Twitter account @BarakObama which has 53.6M followers.

Leave a Reply

