I Heart Emoji

As a parent of a tween with her first 📱, I was 😟 that too much texting would become problematic. I was also 😰 that cyber bullies or worse, 👦👦👦 might invade my little 👧’s life. So naturally, the only thing to do was to invade her privacy and ğŸ”Ž at her texts. What I found was a world of hieroglyphs that any Egyptian would’ve been proud of. Clearly, my little 👸 was on to me and had taken to writing in secret code. I was feeling terribly guilty and ğŸ˜ž that I had breached her trust until I read this and learned that it wasn’t a trust issue at all. It was the ğŸ˜Ž and whimsical 🌏 of emojis!

Emojis are not only fun, they transform the otherwise zombie-like 😶 process of texting into an exercise of creativity and ğŸŽ¨ impression. While some choose to interject them into texts, others have taken it to a whole new art form creating virtual murals from these cute little pictographs. Literary enthusiasts have embraced the medium through Kickstarter by raising over $3,500 to fund a translation of Moby Dick 🐋 into what else – Emoji Dick. Incidentally, they not only stimulate the creative side of our brains but the pecuniary parts too. In 🇯🇵 the market for emojis generates over $3 mil USD. Cha-ching!! 💰💰💰

So, spread the pics, there’s more to emojis than meets the 👀.

http://www.newyorker.com/culture/culture-desk/i-heart-emoji

This entry was posted in Fun. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I Heart Emoji

  1. srochlin says:

    This is great! I think there is so much value to understanding that symbols may actually begin to bridge our language barriers as we slowly morph into one world …

  2. sydhavely says:

    Very clever use of both the subject content (emoticons) and your reporting on them. It’s an important subject in social media communications.Well done.:)

  3. kshellew says:

    Glad to know someone else shares a love of emoji. Here is a project I did last year for another class centered around emoji:http://uncertainwindow.com/kwaller/ I thought someone else might get a kick out of it.

Leave a Reply

