What is Proper Smartphone Etiquette When With Others?

Is it okay to stay glued to your phone when you’re out to dinner with your significant other or friends? I see it all the time. Groups of friends who are out together, but everyone is looking at their phone. Or, a couple who are out to dinner, but they both are looking at their phones. It seems that this is becoming the norm, but is it okay? Personally, I don;t think so. now, I can’t say that I’m not guilty of checking my phone while I’m out with people, but I do make a conscious effort to keep my phone in my purse and only check it every once in a while. I think it’s pretty rude to not give the person who you are with, your full attention. Why do we agree to physically socialize with people only to not be there mentally? Part of me wishes that we could go back to a time when people were so accessible. If you don’t reach a person, just leave a message and they’ll get back to you when they can. Unfortunately, we can’t go back in that sense, but we do have the power to decided how “accessible” we want to be. 

Image

This article from npr.com talks about a new term called “electronic displays of insensitivity” or “EDI”. How do you feel about EDI? Are you guilty of constantly checking your phone while you’re socializing with others? Do you think it’s rude when other do it?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What is Proper Smartphone Etiquette When With Others?

  1. sydhavely says:

    Big issue and one that people, regardless of affiliation to each other, experience and feel marginalized when the other person is constantly checking their emails or taking every call that comes in. Great post.

Leave a Reply

